Executive Board

DGM-Executive Committee

The DGM Executive Committee is responsible for ensuring that the DGM fulfils its statutory role in serving the interests of its members, to the best of its ability. The tasks and aims of the Executive Board towards the other committees of the DGM and the head office or rather the Executive Director are regulated by rules of procedure. The chairperson of the DGM-Executive Board is chosen alternately from the fields of science and industry.

DGM Chairpersons

DGM Executive Directors

Executive committee
Steering Committee Members: 14

The DGM represents the interests of its members - as a guarantor for a continous contentual, structural and personell development of the field of material science and engineering as well as from industry and society.

B 3

01.01.2016 - 31.12.2019
Prof. Dr. Aldo R. Boccaccini
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)
DGM Delegate in the FEMS
Dr. Franz-Josef Bremer
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
Jülich project management agency

E 1

Franziska Erdle
Wirtschaftsvereinigung Metalle e.V.
01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020

F 1

Dr.-Ing. Frank O.R. Fischer
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde e.V.
Executive Chairman

H 1

Marion Höfling
Technische Universität Darmstadt
01.01.2018 - 31.12.2019

M 1

President (Science)
01.01.2018 - 31.12.2020

N 1

Speaker of the Young Talent Panel
01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020

P 1

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Palkowski
Clausthal University of Technology
Speaker of the DGM Technical Committees
01.01.2018 - 31.12.2019

R 1

Dr. Franz Roters
Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH
Speaker of the award committee II
01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020

S 2

President (Industry)
01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020
Vice-president (Industry), Speaker of the DGM Technical Committees
01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020

W 1

10.10.2016 - 31.12.2020

Z 1

Prof. Dr. Martina Zimmermann
Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology IWS Dresden
Vice-president (Science)
01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020

Current Appointments

No appointments

Past Appointments

  • 06.11. - 06.11.2019
  • Universität des Saarlandes, Gebäude D3 3, Raum 2.15, 1. OG | Saarbrücken

  • 17.05. - 17.05.2019
  • Metallwerk, Wallstraße 58/59, 10179 Berlin | Berlin

DGM-Vorstandsklausur 2019
  • 28.02. - 28.02.2019
  • AXICA, Pariser Platz 3, 10117 Berlin | Berlin

  • 16.11. - 16.11.2018
  • Hydro Aluminium Rolled Products GmbH | Georg-von-Boeselager-Str. 21, 53117 Bonn

  • 26.04. - 26.04.2018
  • Metallwerk, Wallstraße 58/59, 10179 Berlin | Berlin

  • 19.10. - 19.10.2017
  • Wissenschaftszentrum Bonn, Ahrstraße 45, 53175 Bonn | Bonn

  • 27.04. - 27.04.2017
  • WirtschaftsVereinigung Metalle | Berlin

  • 15.03. - 16.03.2017
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH | Berlin

  • 14.10. - 14.10.2016
  • INVENTUM Geschäftsstelle | Sankt Augustin

Rules of Procedure

1. Executive Board

The rules of procedure of the DGM-Executive Board regulate the duties and aims of the Executive Board, towards the other DGM committees and the head office or rather the executive director.

1.1 Duties and Aims

The Executive Board is responsible for ensuring that the DGM carries out its statutory role and works on the continuous implementation of its general principle. 

General principle of the DGM: the DGM represents the interests of its members from the fields of science and industry - as guarantor for the continued substantive, structured and personnel development of the fields of materials science and materials engineering as well as industry and society.

1.2 Composition and Term of Office

The DGM Executive Board is comprised of:

a) a chairperson

b) two deputy chairpersons

c) up to eight assessors

d) the Executive Director

The chairperson of the DGM should be chosen alternately from the fields of science and industry. Up to four places as assessors will be reserved for the committee spokespersons of the DGM (e.g. for the spokesperson from the advisory group, the technical committees, the training committee, the award committee II). They will remain an assessor of the DGM for the duration of their time as head of the committee and will be elected at the General Meeting. Should their term as head of the committee end prematurely, their successor will move up into the Executive Board in their place. The successor will likewise stand for election at the next General Meeting.

 The remaining four places as assessors should be allocated to persons from science (2) and industry (2) who have no connection to a DGM-Committee. The term of office as assessor will not be calculated according to the term of office of the executive board. An assessor may be re-elected one time and independently from his time as assessor, may be elected as deputy chairperson one time and as chairperson one time. The term of office of a member of the Executive Board is two years. This does not apply to the Executive Director who is a member of the executive board for the duration of his appointment. The chairperson remains, after his term of office and regardless of the time he has served, a member of the Executive Board for two more years, without need for election: as a rule as one of the deputy chairpersons. Should a member of the executive board resign during hie term of office, the executive board will elect a replacement for the time remaining until the next General Meeting. In addition, the executive board can call upon co-opted members, who as representatives for example from the area of public service, support the work of the DGM. The term of office of the co-opted executive board members is determined by the term of their role as representative. Co-opted members will be called upon by the executive board and take part in meetings as guests with an advisory role and without voting rights. Co-opted members of the DGM executive board could be: DGM representatives in the Federation of European Materials Sciences (FEMS), representatives of the German Research Foundation, representatives of other associations (e.g. SF2M, SVMT etc.), representatives of the project management of ministries (e.g. BMBF, BMWi etc.), representatives of specialised media (e.g. Hanser-Verlag, Wiley-Verlag), spokespersons of the DGM regional forums, and others. Other than the co-opted members and the Executive Director, all other executive board members and assessors must be elected at the General Meeting.

1.3 Executive Board Meeting

In the first year of his new term of office as DGM chairperson, a meeting of the executive board will take place on DGM-Day. The primary aim of the executive board meeting is the review and development of a roadmap for the continued substantive, structural and personnel development of the DGM and with that the entire field of expertise of materials science and engineering technology. The chairperson will send the invitations and itinerary for the meeting via the head office, to all board members, assessors, co-opted members and guests, at least two weeks in advance. Regular orders of the day: Welcome and approval of the minutes of the previous meeting, clarification of the roles of the executive board members, input from the DGM Advisory Group, input from the DGM Technical Committees, input from the DGM Training Committee, input from the DGM Regional Forums, stronger interaction between science and industry, networking of the DGM with other disciplines, national and international networking with other institutions and other business.

DGM Chairpersons

Executive Directors of the DGM