Award Committee II

Price Kuratorium II
Steering Committee Members: 8

The Board of Trustees II of the DGM comprises 10 members, 5 of whom are representatives of the industry and the other five are with universities. The main task of the Board of Trustees consists in a thorough evaluation of the submitted written nominations and in the preparation of a proposal for the executive board of the DGM regarding the following awards (in the order of increasing average age of the awardees): • DGM-Nachwuchspreis • Masing-Gedächtnispreis • Georg-Sachs-Preis • Tammann-Gedenkmünze The executive board decides on the awarding and normally follows the proposal of the Board of Trustees II. The award ceremony takes usually place as a commemorative event allowing the awardees to present the awarded scientific works.

F 1

Dr.-Ing. Frank O.R. Fischer
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde e.V.

K 1

Dr.-Ing. Thomas F. Keller
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

L 1

M 2

Dr. Frank E. H. Müller
PLANSEE Powertech AG

R 1

Dr. Franz Roters
Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH
Speaker of the award committee II
11.04.2016 - 31.12.2020

W 1

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Weiss
University of Stuttgart

O 1

Dr. Oswin Öttinger
SGLCarbon GmbH

Current Appointments

No appointments

Past Appointments

DGM-Preiskuratorium II
  • 15.11. - 15.11.2018
  • Hydro Aluminium, Georg-von-Boeselager-Strasse 21, 53117 Bonn | Bonn

DGM-Preiskuratorium II
  • 23.11. - 23.11.2017
  • INVENTUM GmbH, Marie-Curie-Straße 11-17, 53757 St. Augustin | St. Augustin

DGM-Preiskuratorium II
  • 04.11. - 04.11.2016
  • Geschäftsstelle INVENTUM | INVENTUM GmbH, Marie-Curie-Straße 11-17, St.Augustin

Rules of Procedure

On the basis of the decision of the Board of Directors (08.12.2011) the proposals of the candidates for the following honours: The Masing-Memorial -Prize, The Georg-Sachs-Prize of the Stifterverband Metalle and The DGM-Prize for Young Talent are jointly assessed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is comprised of five persons who belong to the fields of higher education or non-profit research institutes, and five persons from industry. The Board of Trustees shall meet at least once a year to critically evaluate the proposed candidates and make recommendations for awarding prizes, in accordance with the terms of the various prizes. In doing so, the Board of Trustees may also recommend the awarding of a different prize, deviating from the nomination of the candidate. The head of the Board of Trustees draws up the minutes of the meeting and passes on the substantiated recommendations by stating the persons to be discussed for the constitution of the laudatory speech to the DGM Board of Directors. It must be ensured that all DGM members have the opportunity to submit candidate’s proposals in due time. The call for nomination is distributed through all communication channels of the DGM. In addition, all speakers of the DGM committees are informed and former prize winners encouraged to submit nominations. The members of the Award Committee II elect a spokesman and a deputy spokesperson for two years, which must be confirmed by the DGM board of directors. A one-time re-election is possible. The spokesman shall remain a member of the board of the DGM for the time of his board management and is elected at the general meeting. If the governing body ends before the end of the regular term of office, a successor replaces the spokesman in the Executive Board. The successor will also be elected at the next Annual General Meeting. Speaker and Deputy Spokesman of Award Committee II should represent both science and industry. Every year, Speakers and Deputy Spokespersons distribute invitations to the meeting and direct it. The chairman of the Board of Trustees convenes the meeting. Only such proposals, which are complete and delivered in time, will be dealt with at the meeting. The members of the DGM are invited through publications in the DGM bodies and by the heads of research institutes, university institutes and member firms to submit candidate proposals for the abovementioned prizes to the main office by 31st July. In particular, the members of the Board of Trustees are also called upon to submit proposals in due time before the meeting and to justify these. The Award Committee II also deals with nomination proposals for the DFG's Leibniz Prize, the Acta / Scripta Materialia Awards (Gold Medal, the J. Herbert Hollomon Award), the DGM Prize Winners, the FEMS Awards, and other honors awarded to the DGM externally, as far as they feel responsible.